The Knitting Diva

A blog of life, love, and yarn

Small Town Living….Is it the life for me? August 4, 2010

Filed under: Knitting — Corey @ 2:45 pm

Well, here we are again. And by again, what I mean is that it is many months since my last post…. again.

But we discussed the fact that I am an “on a whim” blogger. Maybe since I have so much time on my hands that will spur on a flood of more frequent posts, but I am not sure I would hold my breath.

Life has definitely taken an interesting turn since last we met. DH and I no longer live in our “oh-so-charming, and yet oh-so-expensive” two bedroom apartment in the heart of Charlotte NC. No, my friends, we have traded in for a hundred year old, two story, brick, “fix-er-upper” in Parkersburg, WV. Excuse me…. West “By God” Virginia.

The house is truly a diamond in the rough. When first I laid eyes on it, about 5 years ago, I knew, one day, this home would be something incredible. Now, get a good visual on this house as I first saw it 5 years ago. Shag carpet in a color that can only be described as “Baby sh*t green.” Not only was this carpet on the inside of the house, but it was on the front porch as well. Kudzu, or some other form of vine, that decided it liked living inside and not out. The middle bedroom upstairs had been used as the tenant’s daughter’s personal diary. Walls, ceiling, the fan, the doors, all screaming for help at the tip of a sharpie. (I really hope that they got that girl to a psychiatrist) Throughout the home was left behind personal effects, financial statements, furniture, canned foods. All of it we pulled out and set for the garbage collectors. We had to wear masks and gloves because the home had been left to such disrepair and filth, it was a health risk. This, my friends, is the house I fell in love with.

Front view

To their horror and shock, we announced to my husband’s family that this was the house we wanted to take as ours when we moved back to WV. Well, we convinced them we weren’t crazy (well, we are, but that is besides the point), and we really were moving back and intending to move into this house.

We started making trips to help clean the place out. His parents started arrangements for contractors to come in for the electrical work and the furnace units. The walls were cleaned, the kitchen totally redone. And about a year and a half later, here we are. We have a house that is almost done, and is well on it’s way to being as magnificent as I knew it could be.

Small town living is very different from what I am used to. My husband grew up here. He knows how the people are, and is not really phased when the occasional person stops by to say how glad they are that someone is living in the house now that will take care of it.

While I was out, he even had one of the original owners stop by. He said she was a woman about in her 70′s who stopped to say she had lived there when she was a girl. She came in to see what had been done and was so pleased that so much of the house was kept original.

While I miss the hustle and bustle of Charlotte, and I most definitely miss my friends, I could get used to these nightly walks around the block. Grilling out and enjoying a dinner together. Mostly, I am grateful for a town where I feel safe, and feel like this is a place we can settle. So, it seems, small town living, may just be the life for me!

Ya’ll come back now, ya hear!

P.S. I didn’t make this a picture heavy post, so you wouldn’t have a nightmare loading it on your computer. But if you want to go see more house pictures, click the box over on the right there that has my Flickr page on it. Before and some of my after pictures are up. I will get more as we get more done with the house! Thanks for stopping by!

 

5 Responses to “Small Town Living….Is it the life for me?”

  1. J.P. Says:

    Ellie Mae,
    I miss you, but am glad that you are enjoying the house. I can’t wait to see it this weekend!

  2. Niki Vogler Says:

    Wow! I can see what drew you to the house – it has beautiful “bones”. I know that the work must seem daunting, but you have come so far already, and it shows! Congratulations!

  3. Zonda Says:

    Aha! That’s where you guys ended up! How wonderful to be able to make it just right for you! Hope all is going well!

  4. Dani Says:

    Nothing wrong with small town living… in fact, what you and your wonderful hubby have undertaken is the dream of many. I know the longer you’re there the more you will make that house your home, and the happier it will be :)

    We miss you!!!

  5. Nell Says:

    Congrats! What an exciting adventure.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.