The Knitting Diva

A blog of life, love, and yarn

“In a way, it’s someone else’s story, June 26, 2009

Filed under: Knitting — Corey @ 11:09 pm

I don’t see myself as taking part at all. “

This is kind of how I have been feeling for a while. The lyrics come from a song I used to sing at just about every audition I ever did. I’ll tell you about it in a little bit. But let me first return to the fact that I have been feeling so far removed from my own self lately, that I don’t even feel like its me going through everyday life. I can only think that its a coping mechanism for things like dealing with mourning, dealing with missing my husband who works a completely opposite schedual from me, dealing with the status quo of life as of right now.  Detatchment is not something I am well practiced at, but its something I’ve been doing an awful lot of lately. I suppose that is part of the reason the blog has been neglected, I don’t return phone calls except mostly to my husband and mother. I’ve let a lot of my social life just drift past. What has worried me the most is that I haven’t cared.

The last few weeks I have kind of, woken up, I guess is the best way to say it. I have realized that I have stepped completely out of my own life and let something else that is not me take over. Well, I just can’t function like that anymore. I am doing my best to re-engage myself with the world and my life.

So, as re launch, what like number 100 on this blog, here I go again!

Let me start by telling you that the lyrics previously mentioned, stem from the musical Chess. Chess was introduced to me back when I was about 10 singing in children’s choir in CT. I was assigned the song “Someone Else’s Story.” Most likely, at the time, it was given to me by my teacher, because the range of the piece suited my voice. Little did I ever know, was that the song is kind of the anthem of my life. It deals with struggle, with pain, but yet also deals with a “get off your ass and do something” mentality. It’s a woman who is so out of touch with her own life that she has forgotten to live it. But this is the moment where she realizes it and does something about it.  I was re-introduced to my Chess when it was redone as a concert version starring Idina Menzel (would like to be her in another life), Josh Groban (swoon), and my dear dear Adam Pascal (if you know me you know how I feel about this man!!!!). What an amazing performance. The music is fabulously written. Tim Rice is really a genious. I strongly suggest you either DVR it the next time it shows up on PBS or just go buy the thing!!

I was going to find you a lovely video clip of the song on YouTube, but all the ones from the recent concert are crappy cell phone videos. Searching for one, however, led me to an amazing find… My Broadway junkies out there will know who this is almost immediately I am sure.

Lea Salonga, for those of you who don’t know her, was in original casts of Les Miserables, Mis Saigon, and did the singing voice for Mulan. Those are only her most popular, she has a very extensive resume.

Ok, so I have totally exposed my Broadway geekiness. Bretheren come a runnin, we will talk musicals all day!

On to knitting. I have actually done quite a bit of that.

The most recent being a pair of fabulous socks I have finished.

I am participating in the WendyKnits, Socks from the Toe up KAL 2009 AND Summer of Socks 2009.

You are going to see a lot of socks for the next couple of months.

Pattern: Lacy Ribs
Toe: JMCO
Heel: Slip stitch
Yarn: Chewy Spaghetti
Colorway:Lucky
Needles: US2 Circular Needle (KnitPicks Harmony), 32”
Start Date: June 1, 2009
Finish Date: June 21,2009
Size: Large
Cast off: EZ sewn BO

I also dabbling in crochet. Yes, I said crochet!! And I’m not half bad!

I’ll give you all the details on this once its finished.

Tomorrow is a big Saturday. Hobby Lobby, Charlotte Purls meet up, and possibly another yarn shop with YeaIKnit!

Sorry for the kind of emo start, but I hope I have left you with something enjoyable. I promise I will be back!

Love & Stitches,

C.M.S.S.

 

6 Responses to ““In a way, it’s someone else’s story,”

  1. trillian42 Says:

    Broadway geeks unite!

    I had heard about the Chess concert, but I didn’t know it was Idina! (Right there with you on the “want to be her” thing) I’ll have to check it out!

    And wow – Lea Salonga. There’s a name I haven’t heard in a long time. Wonder what she’s up to now!

  2. turtlegirl76 Says:

    *hug* It’s good to have you back. I might run into you at the Purls today. I’m taking Discoknits & JP on a yarn crawl and the Purls is on the list of places to stop!

  3. Batty Says:

    Sorry you’re having a hard time of it. I hope things get better!

    And… yes, there are other Broadway geeks out there. I love that song too.

  4. debra Says:

    I’m so glad to read your post. It sounds like you’re feeling better and I’m glad! Hope you get to BAM this summer.

  5. Jane Prater Says:

    Beware the Depression Devil. Take it one day at a time. Do just one thing outside yourself. If necessary, I’ll come and drag you out. Been there; grateful for friends. Love you.

  6. debra Says:

    I finally had the opportunity to listen to the song and it is beautiful!! I went on netflix and queued the dvd. Thanks for broadening my horizon.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.